Advisory Committee Members

Research Areas
Current Positions
C.-T. James Huang
  • Syntactic theory
  • Syntax-semantics interface
  • Chinese linguistics
Professor, Department of Linguistics, Harvard University, The 31th Academician, Academia Sinica
Alexander Adelaar
  • Malay and the Languages of Borneo, Madagascar and Taiwan
Principal Fellow, Asia Institute, The University of Melbourne
Lisa Lai-Shen Cheng
  • Comparative syntax
  • Syntax-semantics interface
  • Syntax-phonology interface
  • Chinese and Bantu syntax
Chair Professor, Department of  Linguistics, Leiden University
Sandra Chung
  • Syntax
  • Semantics
  • Austronesian languages
Professor, Department of Linguistics
and Fellow of Cowell College, University of California, Santa Cruz
Matthias Gerner
  • Descriptive and Areal Linguistics of SW Chinese minority languages Syntax and Semantics
  • Pragmatics
  • Grammaticalization
  • Lexicalization Typology
Professor, Department of Linguistics and Translation, City university of Hong Kong
Carlos Gussenhoven
  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
Professor, Department of Linguistics, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Christine Lamarre
  • historical Linguistics
  • dialectology
Professeur des Universites, Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales
Randy J. LaPolla
  • Sino-Tibetan linguistics
  • linguistic typology
  • grammaticalization
  • functional syntax
  • pragmatics
  • fieldwork and endangered languages
  • anthropological linguistics
Professor, Nanyang Technological University, Division of Linguistics and Multilingual Studies
Yen-Hwei Lin
  • Phonology
  • Chinese Dialects
Professor, Department of Linguistics and Languages
Michigan State University
Kikuo Maekawa
  • Phonetics
  • Language Resources
Professor & Director,  Department of Corpus Studies ,National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics
Alec Marantz
  • Universal Grammar
  • Syntax
  • Morphology
  • Language Acquisition
  • Neurolinguistics
Professor, Department of Linguistics,  New York University
Mamoru Saito
  • Syntactic Theory
  • Comparative Syntax
  • The Structure of Japanese
Professor, Center for Linguistics, Nanzan University
Niina Ning Zhang
  • Formal Syntax
  • Morphology
  • Syntax-Semantics Interface
Distinguished Chair Professor, Institute of Linguistics, National Chung Cheng University

Copyright 2015 Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica